For HINDI version click here      AICTE Mandatory Disclosure click here       e-Newsletter click here      UoH Webmail Click click here      How to reach click here      Guide Map click here

School of Social Sciences

Dean: Prof. P. Venkata Rao

The School of Social Sciences comprises the following Departments and Centres.
1) Department of History
2) Department of Political Science
3) Department of Sociology
4) Department of Anthropology
5) Centre for Regional Studies
6) Centre for Folk Culture Studies
7) Centre for the Study of Indian Diaspora
8) Centre for Study of Social Exclusion and Inclusive Policy
9) Center for Knowledge Culture and Innovation Studies
10) Centre for Human Rights
11) Centre for Gandhian Economic Thought
12) Centre for Ambedkar Studies
13) Department of Education and Education Technology

Among these, the Departments of Political Science and Sociology have been recognised by the University Grants Commission for the Special Assistance Programme.

In addition, the School has Human Rights Programme functioning under the auspices of Political Science Department and a Centre for Indian Diaspora. The School of Social Sciences also has a interdisciplinary Women’s Studies Cell which takes up research projects on gender issues. An Archival Cell with the support of the UGC is functioning under the auspices the Department of History for preservation of rare and valuable manuscripts. The Department of Anthropology has developed a museum as a teaching aid for students. All the departments are equipped with e-mail and internet facilities.

From the Academic Year 2007-2008 the School of Social Sciences is starting a Five Year Integrated Programme in Social Sciences leading to masters degree in History, Political Science, Sociology and Anthropology. For the first three years the students admitted to the programme will do courses offered by various departments in the School and other schools in the University. At the end of three years students will branch out to departments of History, Political Science, Sociology and Anthropology after fulfilling the credit requirement, stipulated by the departments.